Truth and Love

‘ ..while God loves an innocent, beautiful heart that loves Him completely, this reality does not negate the fact we should love him correctly.

Imagine if I were to go home at the end of the day to see my wife. What if I am just overtaken by her beauty, her gorgeousness, and I just kneel right on the floor before her and say, “Baby, I love you so much right now my heart hurts, I don’t just love you; I am in love with you. And I don’t know if it’s your black hair or your brown eyes or what– just the sight of you is wow.”

Some of you might be thinking, That’s so sweet!

But let me explain. Let me tell you why if I were to do that, it would go very badly for me. My wife has blonde hair and blue eyes. Even if my emotions were powerful and appropriate, my wife is going to have a problem with how I expressed them.

Love is not simply something that we feel. It encompasses our affections, yes. It gets expressed in emotional ways, yes. But the Bible tells us that real love “rejoices with the truth” (1 Cor. 13:6). I assume from Ephesians 4:15 that it’s possible to speak the truth from a lack of love, and by extension, that it’s possible to express love from a place of ignorance and even falsehood. ‘

Matt Chandler, “To Live is Christ to Die is Gain”, pg 178

Comment here...

