Show yourself a Man

1 Corinthians 16:13
Be watchful, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong

Job 38:3
Dress for action like a man; I will question you, and you make it known to me.

1 Kings 2:2
I am about to go the way of all the earth. Be strong, and show yourself a man,

Joshua 1:9
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.

2 Chronicles 15:7
But you, take courage! Do not let your hands be weak, for your work shall be rewarded.

Daniel 10:19
And he said, “O man greatly loved, fear not, peace be with you; be strong and of good courage.

Nehemiah 4:4
And I looked and arose and said to the nobles and to the officials and to the rest of the people,“Do not be afraid of them. Remember the Lord, who is great and awesome, and fight for your brothers, your sons, your daughters, your wives, and your homes.”

These are some verses that come to mind, as well with the help of google. I think it can be said that there is an expectation, generally that the Lord has on his sons. This post isn’t on gender roles, so don’t close the window yet. I know this is the big idea this past year that probably is the first frame or bone structure that the Lord is doing on top my laid foundation on the house of my life.  I hope it looks like a ginger bread house.

I really feel like I have a new set of eyes from SBS and am at a point where I need to be ready to engage the world with the Lord. There is a definite kind of fear to it and probably at the root is a lot of insecurities and I think this may be a season where the Lord really addresses that for me.

It’s really cool to see through these passages, God in a sense demanded that they were courageous, brave, and firm. (The circumstances for some of those passages are not actually God speaking to people, but are actually people to each other.) As the eloquent writer Marshall Mathers, or also known by his pen name, Eminem, once said

“Ain’t no pussies over hur, partner, see you in hell…”

serves as a modern paraphrase and even catchphrase(for me), that echoes in my mind and is something I want to always be able to say, except the last part. Simply put, I definitely see in myself a greater need for a bigger backbone and an expectation for that to grow and be fulfilled through the grace of the Lord/in the Lord/joy of the Lord, A-SAP.

More like this.

A backbone like this will do.

But what I realized from the idea and the necessity of developing or pursuing strength is that it isn’t for me…

Romans 15:1
We who are strong have an obligation to bear with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves.

Uncle Ben said it in Spiderman, as well… If you can do good things for other people, you have a moral obligation to do those things.  It’s time to be a good steward, and not just a flight attendant.  Just kidding, they’re great.

But the idea lies in that the gifts each person has belongs to the kingdom.  And the question will be in when those gifts are developing or even developed how will we use them.  How will we use our strength.  For good or will we continually rob the Lord?

In closing I post this video that has made me cry to tears. Merry Christmas.

Comment here...

